A New Home

Black And White Photography, Photography, Stacy

Sunflowers in vase highlighted by sun coming through window blinds

Some of you may know that I’ve been in the process of selling my house and moving – downsizing from my suburban home of 21 years where my husband and I raised our three (now adult) children into a much smaller apartment in Washington, DC. We began this journey back in January, and last week Wednesday, we finally moved into our new home.

It’s been a grueling six months, and all the things I love to do (ahem, photography, blogging, connecting with fellow bloggers, walking, reading), have had to take a back seat. But this past Monday, the first day I was able to sleep in and relax since nothing was planned but unpacking boxes at whatever speed I chose to do it, I awoke to the sun streaming in our bedroom window and I pulled out my camera for only the second time since January. I have to admit, I was a bit rusty, tying to remember what settings I had assigned to which button. But then it all started to flow and I felt like I had reconnected with an old friend.

To all of you who have liked and commented on my Monochromia posts here and on Visual Venturing but have not received replies, my sincerest apologies. Likewise, I have missed seeing so much of all of your work. But that all begins to change as the boxes become unpacked and possessions put away. My heartfelt thanks for sticking with me.

By the way, anyone need a couch?


If you’re interested in seeing the color version of this photo, visit VisualVenturing.com.

18 thoughts on “A New Home

    1. I’m having a lot of fun trying my to “fit” our belongings into the new space – so much nicer than figuring out what to get rid of (though I dare say I still may have to “downsize” a little more) 😃 Thanks, Raewyn, for your consistent and ongoing support!

      Like

  1. I’m glad to see you are moved in and getting back into the swing of things Stacy 😊 This is a spectacular image and if you were a bit rusty with this image I can’t wait to see what’s in store when you warm up. Exquisite work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Joe, you always manage to leave such wonderful comments. Thanks so much for always being a great cheerleader. By the way, just so you know, my posts to Monochromia are what has kept me going through all this and kept me connected to WP. Thank you, my friend. I continue to feel so blessed to be part of this group.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think

