Before

Black And White Photography, Photography, Steven
Staten Island Ferry, New York © Steven Willard

Staten Island Ferry, New York © Steven Willard

It was years before I moved to Connecticut, 1971 in fact. Here I was on my first trip to New York City and there were so many things I wanted to see and do, I hardly knew where to begin. But I knew that one of the things I wanted was to take the Staten Island Ferry, just to say I’d done it. I also thought it would be a great way to get a full view of lower Manhattan Island. It was a blustery day, with a low-hanging overcast, but in the distance I could easily make out the World Trade Towers that are just visible in the upper left of the photograph. This was long before the tragedy of 9/11, and before we lost the feeling that our country was indestructible. It will be a long, long time before we will feel that way again.

Pentax Spotmatic with 50mm lens and Tri-X. Scanned from a gelatin print and adjusted with curves in Photoshop CS4 to better match the original print.

Please visit my blog at https://stevenwillardimages.wordpress.com for more images and notes.

11 thoughts on “Before

  1. Wonderful old image Steven and 1971 was a time when my friends and I would drive into Manhattan every night after work because of all the things to do (the city that never sleeps). Great work.

    Liked by 2 people

Tell us what you think

