Guest Post – Jane Lurie – Morning Catch, Baker Beach

Black And White Photography, Jane, Photography

Please welcome our newest Guest Contributor Jane Lurie.  Thank you for joining our “little club” and I look forward to your future posts.

morning-catch-baker-beach-jane_lurie

“Photography helps people to see”. This quote by Berenice Abbott has always been a favorite. The ability to see and capture a moment in time is the true pleasure, for me, of photography.

My name is Jane Lurie. I grew up in New Jersey and worked in the education field for my career. I moved to South Carolina outside of Charleston for fifteen years before moving to San Francisco a few years ago.

I still remember the thrill of getting my first SLR camera, a Minolta, in high school. When I started taking darkroom classes I discovered the power of black and white photography. I revered Ansel Adams and his landscapes.

Digital cameras and blogging provided new avenues for me and I’m inspired by the connections and creative possibilities. I am drawn to many subjects, especially landscapes, street photography, portraiture, architecture and nature.

I am very pleased to be a part of Monochromia, a talented group infatuated with black and white photography. It is nice to know you are all out there looking for the light and seeing in monochrome.

You can view more of my work here – Jane Lurie Photography and also my Photoblog

44 thoughts on “Guest Post – Jane Lurie – Morning Catch, Baker Beach

  1. Welcome to the family, I look forward to your future posts. This image brings back many memories of times I’ve sought out that special place to spend some time with a fishing rod. It also serves as a reminder of my visits to San Francisco and walking across the Golden Gate Bridge.

    Like

  2. Hello Jane, welcome to Monochromia!
    Magnificent photograph of one of the most photographed places in the world, and despite that is original. I love the atmosphere, the perspective and the figure of the fisherman, in the perfect place. Very good picture.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Charly, Thank you! It’s wonderful to be a part of the group– I’ve admired all your work for a long time. Your thoughts on this image mean a lot to me – I’m so glad you appreciate its elements.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think

