Fallout

Black And White Photography, Photography, Steven
Pine and needles, Woodbury, CT © Steven Willard

Pine and needles, Woodbury, CT © Steven Willard

We get so interested in Fall colors it’s easy to overlook what else is going on around us. I had Wally, my dog, out for an afternoon stroll, and he surprised me by taking a different path than usual. No doubt he had caught the scent of a stranger, maybe a deer or a turkey, perhaps just a feral cat. At any rate, we were walking down a trail that wasn’t on our normal dog walk, when we came upon this pine tree standing in the middle of a bed of pine needles. They looked completely undisturbed, unusual because the grounds crew hadn’t swept them up.

It didn’t occur to me to make a photograph at first. Truthfully, I couldn’t imagine how to compose the subject, if there really was a subject. Here came Wally to the rescue. He found something he really liked the smell of and he refused to leave. I was stuck there, waiting while Wally had his nose to the ground, so why not make an exposure? So that’s what I did; I made one exposure while standing on his leash, and then he was satisfied. What a smart dog he was. I still miss him terribly.

Panasonic G3 with 20mm f1.7 lens, processed in Photoshop CS4 using Silver Efex Pro 2.

Please visit my blog at www.stevenwillardimages.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “Fallout

  1. Thanks, Joe. One of the things I have to keep telling myself when photographing is to loosen up…to not be so analytical in my decision about whether to press the shutter button or not. Some of my images that have turned out to be most effective were made on impulse. My advice to new photographers is shoot more and think less!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Superb image Steven 😀 There are so many images missed by thinking “there’s no shot here”. Thank goodness Wally refused to move from this spot or you wouldn’t have thought twice about this scene. My dog Sam has been gone for 10 years now and I still miss him. Awesome work.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think

