Guest Post – Andre Krajnik – Waterfall

Andre, Black And White Photography, Photography

I would like to welcome the newest member of our Guest Contributor team

André Krajnik

My name is André and I’m very exited to be part of this group of bloggers. I would like to thank Joe for giving me the opportunity to become part of the guest contributor team.

This is my debut to Monochromia and this photo was taken in Iceland in summer 2014. I still really love this waterfall.

I’m based in a small town south-east of the Ruhr area in the state North-Rhine Westphalia, Germany. Beside landscape and animals, I photograph weddings, people, concerts and other events. I started with photography back in the early 1980s. My first camera was a Minolta X500 35mm SLR camera, that I bought from the first money I earned. It was a great companion for many years. After several upgrades I ended up with a Minolta Dynax 7000i that is still in one of my drawers with a single zoom lens.

After nearly 30 years of taking photos on analog film I decided to try digital photography back in 2008 when it reached a quality level that was sufficient in my opinion and worth all the money I would have to spend on the gear. I’m using Nikon now and I use my D610 most of the time. For landscape, portraits or weddings it’s the best choice for me because of the full frame sensor and the big dynamic range. For wildlife, I’m still using my old D90.

Beside some good prime lenses for weddings and portrait sessions, I own some zoom lenses with a focal length of 14 to 400 mm for a full frame sensor, a tele-converter, a set of extension tubes and an fish-eye lens.

My gear often has quite a hard job as you can see in the image below.

When I started with photography, I had my own lab. I was photographing very much in B&W and IR at that time and developed the films myself as well as the prints. At that time, I worked part-time as a repro photographer for an advertising agency. I still love how the structures pop out in B&W. You can usually see a lot more details when simply concentrating on one color (black in so many different nuances) on white paper. That’s the same in digital.

 

To see more of my work please visit my German website – or my English WordPress blog here

 

20 thoughts on “Guest Post – Andre Krajnik – Waterfall

  1. Welcome to Monochromia Andre and a wonderful first image from an excellent camera!
    (Happens to be my camera of choice at present too!)

    Like

Tell us what you think

